He’s an EQ favourite and one of the finest breaks producers around - now you can download Rennie Pilgrem’s new MP3 mix and get a taste of his new single, The Rich Rule Us…

We’re big fans of Rennie Pilgrem here at EQ, so it’s a bit of an honour to have the Godfather Of Breaks himself deliver a tasty little mix for your listening pleasure. It’s been put together by Rennie to coincide with the release of The Rich Rule Us, the third track to be taken from his excellent artist album Skin which dropped last year.

The punk-tinged growler drops on Rennie’s own label TCR on August 14, and it features live guitars and bass from Will South who, when he is not co-writing stuff for the BBC, is a member of Rennie’s live band The TCR Allstars. It also features some stunning – not to mention pertinent, given the current financial situation – vocals from Ruth Carr, the lead singer with New Zealand breaks outfit Minuit. Says Rennie: “It’s not often that a dance track actually has lyrics that don’t have you reaching for the sick bag. These, on the other hand, are not only extremely hooky but they should strike a chord with everyone.”

Ruth’s band has also contributed a remix to the package, along with Spanish production team B-S-D – who won a competition to rerub this track – Beatmonkeys and Rennie himself, who turns in a mix that is a homage to the Friction parties, where the nu-skool breaks sound was born.

And if that’s not enough for you, there’s also a suitably dark video to go with this anti-rich rant - and we’ve got hold of that too. Check it out as you download Rennie’s mix…

The Rich Rule Us is out on TCR on August 14. Visit to find out more about what’s happening at Rennie’s label…


1. Rennie Pilgrem – Intro
2. Diplo – Blow Ya Head? [Unknown]
3. Unknown [Passenger]
4. Zinc – Ghost Town [Television]
5. Flore ft Rodney P – We Rewind It [Botchit]
6. Beat Assassins – Unknown [MOFO]
7. Grim_Pil – Come Dancing [TCR]
8. Unknown – Fuck Work [CDR]
9. Unknown – B Boy Tradition [CDR]
10. Rennie Pilgrem – The Rich Rule Us (Rennie’s Friciton Mix [TCR]
11. JDS ft Mihell – Purple Funky Monkey (Koma+Bones Mix) [TCR]
12. Si Begg – The Bleeps (Shades Of Rhythm Mix) [Mutate]
13 I.D. – Unknown [CDR]
14. Caper – Jump Up [10 Against One]
15. High Rankin – Unknown [Subslayers]
16. White Lies – Death (Blame Mix) [Fiction Records]


Bookmark and Share





“It’s not often that a dance track has lyrics that don’t have you reaching for the sick bag. But these should strike a chord with everyone”
eqtv podcasts
rennie pilgrem the rich rule us